Avalehe pilt
Information on border crossing

Estonia is a member of common legal framework of the Schengen  area since 21 December 2007.The Schengen area operates very much like a single state with no internal border control  and the travellers can cross the border any time. A passport or ID for identification of a person are required for travelling. The authorities (police, immigration department) of the Schengen area have been entitled  with the right to conduct the documents` checks in case of need.  Estonia having been joined  the Schengen visa area implements the border control compensation measures. The immediate pass control at the border has been substituted by control of the legality of the alien`s stay within the whole country exercised by police officers. The mobile units have been taken into use in order to control persons and vehicle documents and technical condition of vehicles.

It is possible that Estonia or any other country joined with the Schengen agreement shall reintroduce  the temporary check at inner border. The re-introduction  is possible if there is a serious threat to public order or inner security of the country.

The temporary check line between the Republic of Estonia and Russian Federation   shall constitute the external border within Schengen visa area. You can cross the border  from the Republic of Estonia to the Russian Federation  at seven check points. Entering the check point territory, it is necessary to follow the relevant traffic signs and to choose the appropriate driving route according to the signs (all citizens of the EU or all travel documents, type of an vehicle: motor cars, trucks, tourist bus). In addition, the citizens of EU have been provided with the right to cross the check point through the specific passage designed for checking  all travel documents.

People can cross the external border not only at Tallinn border check point but also at the port opened for the international movement.

By the Narva-2 Border Crossing Point (the footbridge) and the Saatse Border Crossing Point the persons, who are permanently residing on the territories of the Republic of Estonia and the Russian Federation, regardless of their citizenship, can cross the border.